How Much Do You Charge?
It’s my number one question here at Ave! Notary, and that is reasonable. So let’s talk about Arizona State Statutes - it’s going to be thrilling!
The fees that a notary can charge are set by the Arizona State Legislature, they are set in law. No notary can add to them, we don’t make the laws - remember? civics class. :)
It’s all in the A.R.S. 41-316. A notary may charge up to $10 each time they use their stamp. And they may charge mileage in an amount up to the authorized for mileage expenses and per diem subsistence for employees as prescribed by title 38, chapter 4, article 2.
What?- you say!
Yes, for General Notary Work, GNW, I can charge $10 every time I use my stamp and $0.44/mile one way to drive to you. That’s it.
Wait! - you say!
That $5 to pay with a credit card; that $35 travel fee; that additional fee to notarize after hours or at a hospital that you’ve been quoted or worse, paid?
All illegal fees.
But wait, there’s more!
If you are ever overcharged, you can complain to the Secretary of State, she’s my boss, and she’ll force the notary to repay you 4 times what you were overcharged! Wow!
Now if you need a witness or two because you cannot get them, I can ask a couple of my favorite people to be your witnesses. But YOU are hiring them, you are paying them DIRECTLY, and they are not cheap. But if you don’t have neighbors or friends who can witness for you, I can get you some. The reason they are not cheap is b/c if there is ever an issue with your documents and they need to provide a deposition or appear in court, well that’s quite a commitment on their part.
I hope I’ve answered the most popular question that I get. Call Ave! Notary for your notary needs.
Remember - text or leave a message since I don’t answer my phone when I’m with a customer. And get your title notarized when you decide to sell it, not when you have a buyer.
I can’t wait to meet you!